Download RT-Eye(TM) Serial Compliance and Analysis Quick Start User Manual

Transcript
RT-Eye™
Serial Compliance and Analysis
Quick Start User Manual
www.tektronix.com
071-1957-00
Copyright © Tektronix. All rights reserved. Licensed software products are owned by Tektronix or its subsidiaries or suppliers, and are
protected by national copyright laws and international treaty provisions.
Tektronix products are covered by U.S. and foreign patents, issued and pending. Information in this publication supersedes that in all
previously published material. Specifications and price change privileges reserved.
TEKTRONIX and TEK are registered trademarks of Tektronix, Inc.
RT-Eye is a trademark of Tektronix, Inc.
Contacting Tektronix
Tektronix, Inc.
14200 SW Karl Braun Drive
P.O. Box 500
Beaverton, OR 97077
USA
For product information, sales, service, and technical support:
In North America, call 1-800-833-9200.
Worldwide, visit www.tektronix.com to find contacts in your area.
Warranty 9(b)
Tektronix warrants that the media on which this software product is furnished and the encoding of the programs on the media will be
free from defects in materials and workmanship for a period of three (3) months from the date of shipment. If any such medium or
encoding proves defective during the warranty period, Tektronix will provide a replacement in exchange for the defective medium.
Except as to the media on which this software product is furnished, this software product is provided “as is” without warranty of any
kind, either express or implied. Tektronix does not warrant that the functions contained in this software product will meet Customer’s
requirements or that the operation of the programs will be uninterrupted or error-free.
In order to obtain service under this warranty, Customer must notify Tektronix of the defect before the expiration of the warranty
period. If Tektronix is unable to provide a replacement that is free from defects in materials and workmanship within a reasonable
time thereafter, Customer may terminate the license for this software product and return this software product and any associated
materials for credit or refund.
THIS WARRANTY IS GIVEN BY TEKTRONIX WITH RESPECT TO THE PRODUCT IN LIEU OF ANY OTHER WARRANTIES,
EXPRESS OR IMPLIED. TEKTRONIX AND ITS VENDORS DISCLAIM ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. TEKTRONIX’ RESPONSIBILITY TO REPLACE DEFECTIVE MEDIA OR REFUND
CUSTOMER’S PAYMENT IS THE SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE REMEDY PROVIDED TO THE CUSTOMER FOR BREACH OF
THIS WARRANTY. TEKTRONIX AND ITS VENDORS WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY INDIRECT, SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR
CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES IRRESPECTIVE OF WHETHER TEKTRONIX OR THE VENDOR HAS ADVANCE NOTICE OF THE
POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
General Safety Summary . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . . . .
Preface .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Documentation . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Relevant Web Sites . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Conventions Used in this Manual . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Getting Started. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . . . . .. . .. .
Key Features .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Using Compliance Modules.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Ensuring Compatibility . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Minimum Required System Configuration .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Other Requirements and Restrictions . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Using Accessories .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Installing the Application .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . . . .
Connecting to the Device Under Test . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Typical Probing Configurations.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Calibrating the Oscilloscope and Probes. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .
Operating Basics . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Starting the RT-Eye Application . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Defining Preferences. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Hiding and Returning the RT-Eye Application . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Minimizing and Maximizing the RT-Eye Application . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Docking and Undocking the RT-Eye Application . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using the Sequencing Controls. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Exiting the RT-Eye Application . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
RT-Eye Application User Interface and Menu Structure.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Locating the Application Directories .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using the RT-Eye Software . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . . .
Setting Up the Application . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using the Wizard . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing Plot Summaries .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing Plot Details . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using Zoom . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using Cursors.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using a Grid. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Exporting Plots to Files . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Printing Plots .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing Results .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Creating a New Report. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Generating a Report . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Printing a Report.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Saving a Report. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing or Printing a Saved Report .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
iii
iv
iv
iv
iv
1
1
1
2
2
4
5
5
6
6
9
11
11
12
14
14
16
17
18
20
21
22
22
23
25
27
28
30
31
31
32
34
36
36
37
38
38
i
Table of Contents
Viewing a Saved Report. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Printing a Saved Report without Viewing . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Logging Worst Case Waveforms .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using MyTest .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Saving MyTest . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Running MyTest. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Selecting Measurements and Using Autoset . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Selecting Plots . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Configuring Plots . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Reconfiguring Plots and Using the Bit Error Locator. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Configuring Measurements .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Choosing Probe Types and Measurement Sources . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Source. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Ref Levels. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Smart Gating. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Clock Recovery . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Jitter . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Population. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
General Config. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Setting Limits .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing the Current Limits . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Editing the Currently Displayed Limit File .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing a Summary of the Limits .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Saving the Limits File. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using Limits . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Application Examples.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Creating a Custom Compliance Module with Pass/Fail Limits . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Starting the RT-EyeApplication . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Running the Setup Wizard . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Viewing the Results.. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Summary of Displayed Results . . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using a Mask .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Defining a Limits Module .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Creating a Compliance Report .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Using MyTest .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .. . ..
Index
ii
38
40
41
43
43
44
45
46
47
49
53
53
53
56
57
60
61
63
63
64
64
65
65
66
67
68
68
68
69
70
72
72
74
79
79
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
General Safety Summary
General Safety Summary
Review the following safety precautions to avoid injury and prevent damage to this product or any products connected to it.
To avoid potential hazards, use this product only as specified.
Only qualified personnel should perform service procedures.
While using this product, you may need to access other parts of a larger system. Read the safety sections of the other
component manuals for warnings and cautions related to operating the system.
To Avoid Fire or Personal Injury
Connect and Disconnect Properly. Do not connect or disconnect probes or test leads while they are connected
to a voltage source.
Observe All Terminal Ratings. To avoid fire or shock hazard, observe all ratings and markings on the product. Consult
the product manual for further ratings information before making connections to the product.
Do Not Operate Without Covers. Do not operate this product with covers or panels removed.
Do Not Operate With Suspected Failures. If you suspect that there is damage to this product, have it inspected by
qualified service personnel.
Avoid Exposed Circuitry. Do not touch exposed connections and components when power is present.
Terms in this Manual
These terms may appear in this manual:
WARNING. Warning statements identify conditions or practices that could result in injury or loss of life.
CAUTION. Caution statements identify conditions or practices that could result in damage to this product or other property.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
iii
Preface
Preface
This manual describes how to set up and use the RT-Eye Serial Data Compliance and Analysis Application. Only basic
operations, presented as task-oriented procedures, are covered. For more detailed information, such as theory, concepts, or
algorithms, refer to the RT-Eye online help. For information about using specific, industry-standard modules, refer to the
documentation provided with the module. See Documentation below for additional, related information.
Documentation
To read about
Use these documents
Installation, enabling an application, software
warranty and license agreement, 5 times free
trial, downloading files from the Tektronix
site, available applications and compatibility
Read the Optional Applications Software on a Windows-Based
Oscilloscope Installation Manual.
Basic operations of the RT-Eye application
Read the RT-Eye Serial Data Compliance and Analysis Quick Start User
Manual (this manual) provided in PDF format on the Optional Applications
Software on a Windows-Based Oscilloscope CD. 1
In-depth operation, user interface help, GPIB
commands, and measurement algorithms
Access the online help from the Help menu in the RT-Eye application.
Other related documentation, such as
Method of Implementation (MOI) documents
and help files for specific compliance
modules, Report Generator help, and so on
Read the relevant documents, provided in PDF files, on the Optional
Applications Software on a Windows-Based Oscilloscope CD. 1
1
To access the documentation that is installed on your instrument, click Start in the taskbar and select Programs > TekApplications .
Relevant Web Sites
You may also find useful information about serial data standards on the following Web sites:
www.Infinibandta.org
www.pcisig.com
www.T11.org
www.tektronix.com/serial_data
Conventions Used in this Manual
The following icon is used throughout this manual:
Sequence
Step
iv
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Preface
The following conventions are used throughout the text of this manual:
The terms "RT-Eye application" or "application" refer to the RT-Eye Serial Compliance and Analysis Application.
The term "oscilloscope" refers to any product on which this application runs.
The term "select" is a generic term that applies to the two mechanical methods of choosing an option: with a mouse
or with the Touch Screen.
The term "Compliance Module" refers to optional "plug-in applications" from Tektronix used for compliance testing
to specific serial data standards.
The term "Limits Module" refers to a formatted text file used to specify user limits on mask geometry and measurement
boundary conditions for Pass/Fail testing.
The term "channel" is context dependent. It can refer to the transmit channel of the device under test or to an
oscilloscope channel.
The term "DUT" is an acronym for Device Under Test.
User interface screen graphics are from a TDS6000 series oscilloscope; there may be minor differences in the displays
on other types of oscilloscopes.
When steps require a sequence of selections using the application interface, the " >" delimiter marks each transition
between a menu and an option.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
v
Preface
vi
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Getting Started
Getting Started
This section contains information on key features, compliance modules, compatibility issues, installation, probing
configurations, and calibration.
Key Features
The RT-Eye Serial Compliance and Analysis Application is a software product that enhances the basic capabilities of some
Tektronix oscilloscopes that use Microsoft Windows operating systems. The RT-Eye application is a general analysis tool
that you can use to test, debug, and verify serial-data based designs.
You can use this application to do the following tasks:
Select and configure many amplitude and timing measurements on serial data signals
Quickly set up and take measurements using the Setup Wizard
Select MyTest to execute a previously saved customized set of test conditions
Conduct RT-Eye rendering and mask testing, Time Interval Error analysis, Rj/Dj (random jitter and deterministic jitter)
analysis, and display results as a Bathtub plot
Display the results as eye diagram, histogram, spectrum, or bathtub curve plots
Use the bit error locator feature to find mask failures on the waveform
Perform Pass or Fail limits testing based on waveform masks and based on measurements that use Limits Modules
Perform "plug-fest" level compliance tests for available compliance modules that test against a specific standard
Save the statistical results to a file
Save the worst case waveforms to files
Generate reports
Using Compliance Modules
You can purchase separate compliance
modules for the RT-Eye application, such
as Infiniband, PCI Express, FB-DIMM, and
SAS. These are specific tools that you can
use to ensure that device designs comply
with specific serial data standards. The
compliance modules available to you are
listed in the Modules menu.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
1
Getting Started
This manual only discusses the operation of
the Serial Analysis module. However, the
compliance modules may include specific
help files and PDF files of Methods of
Implementation (MOI) that explain how to
use the compliance module.
Ensuring Compatibility
For information on oscilloscope and RT-Eye application compatibility, refer to the Optional Applications Software on Windows
Based Oscilloscopes Installation Manual, Tektronix part number 071-1078-xx, that shipped with your application.
Minimum Required System Configuration
To check whether you system meets the
minimum required system configuration, do
the following procedure:
1. Select File > Minimize to minimize the
TekScope application.
2
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Getting Started
2. Select Start > Programs >
TekApplications > tdsRT-Eye >
Readme, note the minimum firmware
version that is required, and close the
Readme file.
3. Click TekScope.
4. Select Help > About TekScope… in the
oscilloscope menu bar.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
3
Getting Started
5. Verify that the firmware version is the
same or greater than that noted in step 2.
Other minimum requirements are:
Windows 2000 or Windows XP operating
system
850 MHz Processor
512 MB SDRAM
Other Requirements and Restrictions
MATLAB. MATLAB The RT-Eye installer also installs the Sun Java Run-Time Environment (JRE) and the Mathworks
MATLAB Run-Time Server. The MATLAB server is dedicated to the RT-Eye application and cannot be used for other
purposes.
Do not close the MATLAB Server icon in the
oscilloscope task bar. The application will
close the MATLAB sever when you exit the
application.
4
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Getting Started
Oscilloscope. A maximum sampling rate with interpolation is often necessary to ensure accurate results. Be sure to
consider the following differences in sampling rates before taking measurements:
The TDS6604 oscilloscopes sample at 20 GS/s on two channels and at 10 GS/s on four channels.
The TDS6000B oscilloscopes sample at 20 GS/s on two and four channels.
The TDS6000C oscilloscopes sample at 40 GS/s on two channels and 20 GS/s on four channels.
The TDS7404 oscilloscopes sample at 20 GS/s on one channel and at 10 GS/s on two channels.
The TDS7000B oscilloscopes sample at 20 GS/s on one channel, 10 GS/s on two channels, and 5 GS/s on four channels.
The DPO70404 and DSA70404 oscilloscopes sample at 25 GS/s on one channel, 25 GS/s on two channels, and
25 GS/s on four channels.
The DPO70464 and DSA70464 oscilloscopes sample at 25 GS/s on one channel, 25 GS/s on two channels, and
25 GS/s on four channels.
The DPO70804 and DSA70804 oscilloscopes sample at 25 GS/s on one channel, 25 GS/s on two channels, and
25 GS/s on four channels.
When the Record Length of the oscilloscope is set to 4 M or less, the application can take all measurements. The RT-Eye
application can take a TIE measurement on a record length up to 20 M.
Keyboard. You will need to use a keyboard to enter new names for some file save operations.
Using Accessories
There are no standard accessories for this product.
Installing the Application
For information on how to install the RT-Eye application, refer to the Optional Applications Software on Windows Based
Oscilloscopes Installation Manual that shipped with your application. This manual contains the following information:
Checking for available applications, compatible oscilloscopes, and relevant software and firmware version numbers
Using the five-time free trials for applications
Applying labels for a newly authorized option installation keys
Installing application software
Enabling applications
Downloading updates from the Tektronix Web site
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
5
Getting Started
Connecting to the Device Under Test
You can use any compatible probes to connect between the device under test (DUT) and oscilloscope.
WARNING. To avoid electrical shock and equipment damage, refer to the General Safety Summary at the beginning of this
manual and the safety summaries in your oscilloscope and probe user manuals.
Power off the device under test before you attach probes. Do not touch exposed conductors except with the properly rated
probe tips. Refer to your probe manual for proper use.
To ensure that the bandwidth is adequate
for rise time measurements, your probe
and oscilloscope combination must have a
system bandwidth greater than 1.5 times the
bit rate that you are measuring. This ensures
that the bandwidth is adequate for most
measurements, since most of the energy in
high-speed serial data signals is contained
in the first and third harmonics. To ensure
accurate risetime measurements, 2.5 times
the bit rate (5th harmonic) is required.
Typical Probing Configurations
There are four typical probing configurations for serial data links: two for pseudo differential waveforms and two for true
differential waveforms. The method that you use to set up your measurement channel(s) depends on your application and
what you want to measure.
Two TCA-to-SMA adapters (single
ended)
6
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Getting Started
One P73XX SMA differential probe
Two P72XX single-ended or P73XX
differential probes
One P73XX differential probe
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
7
Getting Started
NOTE. You must deskew the probes when using two channels to perform pseudo-differential measurements. Use the proper
deskew fixture and procedure as described in the user manual or online help of your oscilloscope.
The RT-Eye application relies on upsampled, deskewed data from the oscilloscope to conduct math operations for differential
and common mode waveform measurements. Upsampling prior to deskew is required to ensure accurate measurements.
For more information about probes, refer to Choosing the Probe Configuration in the RT-Eye Serial Compliance and
Analysis Online Help.
8
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Getting Started
Calibrating the Oscilloscope and Probes
NOTE. To ensure accurate results, calibrate the oscilloscope and probes before you run tests. Refer to your oscilloscope
and probe documentation for additional information.
1. Click Utilities > Instrument Calibration
to begin calibrating the oscilloscope for
signal path compensation.
2. Click Calibrate.
3. After the SPC compensation finishes
(verify that the Status is Pass), select
Vertical > Probe Cal ….
4. Connect the probe calibration signal to
the probe.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
9
Getting Started
5. Click Calibrate Probe.
10
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
Operating Basics
Starting the RT-Eye Application
1. Start the application:
For non-B or non-C model
oscilloscopes, select File >
Run Application > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
For B and C model oscilloscopes,
select App > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
The RT-Eye application displays in the
lower half of the screen.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
11
Operating Basics
2. If the RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays, click Cancel.
Defining Preferences
You can set some preferences that will help
you use the application more efficiently. To
set the preferences:
1. Select File > Preferences ….
The Preferences dialog window displays.
12
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
2. Check the preferences to:
Display a Welcome dialog window
each time that you start the
application that allows you to run
either MyTest or the Wizard
Display the Autoset Summary
dialog window each time you select
Autoset.
Enable high-performance eye
rendering. When selected,
only segments of the waveform
surrounding the worst-case eye
violations are rendered. The
resulting eye typically contains
10,000 to 12,000 unit intervals (UIs)
for statistical validity but results in
faster display of the eye diagrams.
If this selection is not checked,
then all the UIs in the record are
rendered, resulting in increased
fidelity of the eye diagram, but
reduced measurement throughput.
3. Click:
Apply to apply your selections and
leave the dialog window open
Cancel to discard your changes and
close the dialog window
OK to accept your changes and
close the dialog window
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
13
Operating Basics
Hiding and Returning the RT-Eye Application
1. Click the Hide icon to minimize the
RT-Eye application and maximize the
oscilloscope display.
2. To display the RT-Eye application again:
For non-B or non-C model
oscilloscopes, click the App
button.
For B and C model oscilloscopes,
select App > Restore Application.
Minimizing and Maximizing the RT-Eye Application
1. To minimize the application, select File
> Minimize.
14
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
2. To maximize the application, click the
RT-Eye icon in the task bar.
If you expanded the TekScope application
full screen after minimizing the RT-Eye
application, you can maximize the RT-Eye
application by performing the following step:
3. To maximize the RT-Eye application
again:
For non-B or non-C model
oscilloscopes, click the App
button.
For B and C model oscilloscopes,
select App > Restore Application.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
15
Operating Basics
Docking and Undocking the RT-Eye Application
1. To undock the RT-Eye application, select
File > Undock.
2. Click and drag the RT-Eye title bar to
position the application anywhere on
screen or on a second monitor, if used.
16
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
3. To dock the RT-Eye application, select
File > Dock.
Using the Sequencing Controls
Sequencing is the steps to acquire waveform information, determine if the information is usable for the measurement, take
the measurement, and display the results. (Before starting sequencing, you must set up the application properly.)
There are three sequencing modes:
Single Run — Processes a single waveform, and then halts. If the waveform source is a live channel, a new waveform is
acquired using the current trigger settings of the oscilloscope
Single No Acq — Processes a single waveform, and then halts. If the waveform source is a live channel, the
measurements are performed on the currently displayed waveform without retriggering
Free Run — Continuously acquires waveforms and sequences until you select the Stop command button; results and
any plots are updated one or more times per measurement cycle
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
17
Operating Basics
The sequencing controls consist of the
following:
1. Clear Results — Clears previously taken
measurements.
2. Mode — Selects one of three modes:
Single Run, Single No Acq, or Free Run.
3. Start — Begins the sequencing steps.
4. Stop — Stops the sequencing.
For example, if you selected Free Run
as the mode, you can click Stop to end
the sequencing. If you selected Single
Run or Single No Acq, it is not necessary
to click Stop.
Exiting the RT-Eye Application
1. Select File > Exit or click the Close icon.
The Exit RT-Eye dialog box opens.
18
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
2. Check Save MyTest if you want to save
your last test configuration so that it can
be recalled the next time you open the
RT-Eye application.
3. Click:
Yes to exit the RT-Eye application
and restore your oscilloscope
settings to their state prior to starting
RT-Eye.
No to exit without restoring the
oscilloscope settings.
Cancel to return to the RT-Eye
application.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
19
Operating Basics
RT-Eye Application User Interface and Menu Structure
*
20
Modules will not display on oscilloscopes with a bandwidth less than 6 GHz.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Operating Basics
Locating the Application Directories
During installation, the RT-Eye application
sets up directories for various functions,
such as to save setup files, masks, and
waveforms.
The default directory structure is shown.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
21
Using the RT-Eye Software
Using the RT-Eye Software
Setting Up the Application
You must set up the RT-Eye application for
serial data analysis. The general steps that
you do are shown in the diagram.
After taking measurements, you can do the
following tasks:
View the results as statistics
Save statistics to a .csv file
View results as a plot
Use the zoom function to examine
details of a plot
Use the Cursor functions in a plot
Save a plot file
Print a plot
Save the worst-case waveforms as .wfm
files
Generate a report file
22
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Using the Wizard
This version of the RT-Eye Application has a Setup Wizard to enable you to quickly set up and take some key measurements.
Before starting the Wizard, you must have your probe(s) connected to an applicable signal. In these procedures, a
2.5 Gb/s, 127 bit, PRBS repeating pattern signal is used. The positive and negative outputs of the signal are connected via
phase-matched SMA cables to a Tektronix P7380SMA differential probe, which is connected to CH 1 of the oscilloscope.
(See page 6, Connecting to the Device Under Test.)
To use the wizard, perform the following
steps:
1. Start the application:
For older oscilloscopes (typically
non-B models), select File > Run
Application > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
For newer oscilloscopes (typically
B models), select App > RT-Eye
Serial Compliance and Analysis.
2. If the RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays, click Run Wizard. Go to step 4.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
23
Using the RT-Eye Software
3. If the RT-Eye Welcome dialog box does
not display, select Measurements >
Wizard ….
(You can use the File > Preferences
menu selection to set the RT-Eye
Welcome dialog box to open when you
start the application.)
The Setup Wizard dialog window opens
with step 1, Probe Type, highlighted. The
selections for step 1 appear in the right
hand area of the window.
4. Select Probe Type from the drop-down
list (in this procedure, Differential), and
click Next.
The choice that you made for step 1 is
displayed in yellow text.
5. Repeat the above procedure for each
step, making the selections that you
want.
24
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
After making your selections for step 7,
Plots, the display should look similar to
this.
6. Click Run.
A display similar to this with the plot
summary window in the upper half of the
screen appears.
Viewing Plot Summaries
The RT-Eye Plot Summary window has the
following toolbar controls for controlling the
plot views.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
25
Using the RT-Eye Software
1. Click this icon to display the plot
summary in the lower half of the screen.
2. Click this icon to return the plot summary
to the upper half of the screen.
26
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
3. Click this icon to display the plot
summary full screen.
4. Click one of these icons to display the
plot summary at half screen again.
Viewing Plot Details
To view details of a plot, click the details
icon associated with one of the four possible
plots. For example, to display details of the
upper left plot:
1. Click this icon.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
27
Using the RT-Eye Software
The RT-Eye Plot Details window
displays for the selected plot.
The toolbar controls change.
Using Zoom
The toolbar for the Plot Details window has
four icons that control the zoom function.
1. Click this icon to select the zoom-in tool.
2. Click an area of the waveform to zoom in
by a factor of two, centered around the
point that you clicked.
NOTE. An alternative zoom function is to
click and drag a box around the area that you
want to zoom; the selected area is expanded
to fill the display area.
3. Click a portion of the zoomed waveform
to further zoom in (or click and drag a
box around the area).
4. Click this icon to select the zoom out tool.
28
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
5. Click the waveform to zoom out.
If you zoomed in more than once on the
waveform, clicking the waveform will
zoom out in equal steps.
6. Click this icon to select the zoom
horizontal axis tool.
7. Click an area of the waveform to zoom
the horizontal axis by a factor of two
(centered around the area clicked), but
retain the scale of the vertical axis.
NOTE. An alternative zoom function is to
click and drag a box around the area that you
want to zoom; the selected area is expanded
to fill the display area, but still maintain the
vertical scale.
8. Click a portion of the zoomed waveform
to further zoom in (or click and drag a
box around the area).
9. Click the horizontal zoom icon to turn off
the zoom function.
10. Click the 100% icon to return the
waveform to its original size.
Clicking this icon always returns the
waveform directly to its original size
without any intermediate zoom steps.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
29
Using the RT-Eye Software
Using Cursors
Use plot cursors to quickly take accurate
measurements of two cursor positions on
a waveform and the difference (Δ) value
between the cursors. Note that cursors are
on by default when viewing plot details.
Make sure that all zoom functions are off
before using cursors.
1. Click and drag each cursor to position it
where you want.
2. Read the V1, V2, and ΔV values for the
horizontal cursors and the t1, t2, and Δt
values for the vertical cursors.
3. To reset the cursors, click this icon.
Resetting the cursors is a quick method
of locating cursors that may be positioned
outside of the display.
4. To turn cursors off, click the associated
icon (horizontal and/or vertical).
5. To return to the plot summary window,
click this icon.
The plot summary window displays.
30
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Using a Grid
1. Click this icon to display the details of the
upper right plot (in this example, the TIE
Jitter Spectrum plot).
2. To display a grid on the plot, click this
icon.
3. To turn the grid off, click the grid icon.
You cannot display a grid on an eye
diagram plot.
Exporting Plots to Files
You can export your plot data to two types
of files:
Graphic files in any format available on
the Save as type drop-down list
Data files in binary .fig file format
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
31
Using the RT-Eye Software
1. Set up the plot window as you want to
export it.
2. Click the Graphics or Data icon to select
the type file that you want to export.
3. Browse to the directory in which you
want to save the file.
4. Enter a file name.
5. Select the type of file format that you
want to export.
6. Click Save.
Printing Plots
You can print your plots to a printer if you
have configured Microsoft Windows on your
oscilloscope for a printer. To print a plot,
perform the following steps:
32
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
1. Set up the plot window as you want it to
print (zoom, cursors, and so on).
2. Click the print figure icon.
3. To print the plot as it appears, click
Print ….
The Print dialog box for your printer
opens.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
33
Using the RT-Eye Software
4. To print the plot, choose the printer
settings that you want, and click OK.
Viewing Results
You can view the statistics for your
measurements in two ways:
Summary view shows the current data
for all the measurements that you
selected.
Detail view shows the following statistics
for each measurement: population,
mean, standard deviation, maximum,
minimum, and peak-to-peak.
1. To view the summary statistics for your
current measurements, select Results >
Summary.
The Result Summary window displays
listing all the selected measurements
and their general statistics.
34
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
2. Use the scroll bar to view all the
measurements.
3. Click Export To CSV to export the
measurement data to a comma
separated data file that can be used in
other applications.
4. Click the Time Units drop-down box and
select Unit Interval (cycle duration of the
recovered clock) or Seconds.
5. To view details of a specific
measurement, click Details.
The Results Details window displays.
6. From the Select Measurement
drop-down list, select the measurement
for which you want details.
7. Read the details of your measurement
in the window.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
35
Using the RT-Eye Software
Creating a New Report
Use the Report Generator utility to generate
a compliance report. The report is a .rpt file
that can only be viewed or printed from the
Report Generator.
You can customize the contents and layout
of the report using the advanced features of
the Report Generator. Refer to the RT-Eye
online help and the Report Generator online
help for details.
By default, the report files are saved to the
Reports directory as shown.
Generating a Report
To generate a report, perform the following
steps:
1. Select Utilities > Reports.
2. Click Generate.
Wait until the report generator is finished.
36
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
When completed, the report displays.
(Use the Alt+Tab key combination to
bring the report to the front, if necessary.)
Printing a Report
3. To print the report, click the printer icon
in the Report Viewer toolbar.
4. Select a printer from the drop-down list.
5. Make any adjustments that you want,
and click OK. (The Print dialog box may
differ slightly, depending on the printer
your are using.)
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
37
Using the RT-Eye Software
Saving a Report
1. To save a report, click the save icon in
the Report Viewer toolbar.
The Save As window opens.
2. Select the directory in which you want
to save the report (the default directory
is Reports).
3. Enter the filename.
4. Click Save.
5. Close the Report Viewer window.
Viewing or Printing a Saved Report
Viewing a Saved Report
To view a saved report, perform the following
steps:
1. Select Utilities > Reports.
38
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
2. Click Browse.
The Open window displays the default
directory, Layouts.
3. Click the Up One Level icon, and then
double-click the Reports folder to open
the Reports directory.
4. Browse to locate the file that you want to
view, and click the file name to select it.
5. Click Open.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
39
Using the RT-Eye Software
6. Click View.
The report that you selected is displayed.
You can print the viewed report. (See
page 37, Printing a Report.)
7. Click the Close icon to close the Report
Viewer.
Printing a Saved Report without Viewing
1. To print a saved report without viewing it
in the Report Viewer, perform steps 1
through 5 of the preceding procedure,
and then click Print.
40
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
The Report Viewer window opens and a
Report Viewer print dialog box displays.
After the print job is sent, both windows
close.
Note that the instrument does not display
a Print setup dialog box when the report
is printed using this method.
Logging Worst Case Waveforms
You can save the acquired waveforms to a set of .wfm files whenever a selected measurement exceeds the highest or
lowest prior value.
To log worst case waveforms, perform the
following procedure:
1. Select Log > Worst Case > Configure.
The Worst Case Waveforms window
displays.
2. Click ON in the Log section.
3. Click Browse to open a browse window.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
41
Using the RT-Eye Software
4. Browse to the directory in which you
want to save the set of worst case files.
5. Click Open.
6. If you want to clear existing waveform
and .csv files from the selected directory,
click Purge.
7. Click Start to take your selected
measurements.
The measurement results display in the
Results Summary window.
8. Select Log > Worst Case > File Names.
The File Names window displays the
names of the measurements, sources,
and worst case file names.
9. To turn off logging, click Config.
42
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
10. Click Off.
Using MyTest
You can use the MyTest feature to save and recall your current settings. This allows you to recall your customized setup at
any time and display a Result Summary window with a single click of a button.
Saving MyTest
To save your settings at any time, perform
the following procedure:
1. Select Measurements > Save MyTest.
Your current set up is saved as MyTest.
To save your settings when exiting the
RT-Eye application, perform the following
procedure:
1. Select File > Exit.
The Exit RT-Eye dialog window displays.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
43
Using the RT-Eye Software
2. Check Save MyTest.
3. Click:
Yes to restore the oscilloscope
settings when you exit the application
No to exit without restoring
oscilloscope settings
Cancel to cancel the exit (your
current setup will not be saved)
Running MyTest
To run MyTest at anytime, perform the
following procedure:
1. Select Measurements > Run MyTest.
The application restores the saved
configuration, takes the measurements,
and displays the results in the Result
Summary window.
To run MyTest from the RT-Eye Welcome
dialog box, which displays when you start
the RT-Eye application, perform the following
procedure:
1. Start the RT-Eye application.
The RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays.
2. Click Run MyTest.
The application takes the measurements
and displays the results in the Result
Summary window.
44
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Selecting Measurements and Using Autoset
You may want to take measurements
other than those set up by the wizard. To
select specific measurements, perform the
following procedures:
1. Select Measurements > Select.
The Measurements window displays.
2. Select your probe type from the Probe
Type drop-down list box. The probe type
affects the available measurements.
(When you select Single Ended,
measurements for Differential Skew, CM
Voltage, and AC CM Voltage are added.)
3. Click the measurement buttons to turn
the measurements on or off, or click
Select All to turn on all measurements.
4. Click Autoset, which performs a Vertical,
Horizontal, and Reference Level autoset
to ensure accurate measurement results.
NOTE. You can set these levels manually.
(See page 56, Ref Levels.)
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
45
Using the RT-Eye Software
Selecting Plots
You can display up to four plots (depending
on your measurement selections). To select
the plots for display, perform the following
procedure:
1. Click Select Plots (or select Plots >
Select).
2. Click Select, if the tab is not active.
3. In the Measurement drop-down boxes,
select up to four measurements that you
want plotted.
4. In the Plot Type drop-down boxes, select
the plot type for each measurement that
you selected. (Note that it is possible to
select a measurement for which there is
no plot.)
46
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Configuring Plots
After you have selected the Measurement
and associated plot type, you can further
configure each of these. To configure a plot,
perform the following procedure:
1. Click Configure.
The controls in the Configure section
vary, depending on the type of
measurements and plots that you
previously selected in the Select window.
2. In this example, click 1 to display the
Configure controls for an Eye Diagram
plot.
3. Click the Bit Type drop-down box, and
select the bit type that you want.
4. Click On or Off to toggle the display of
masks.
5. Click Browse.
The Masks window opens.
6. Select the mask file that you want to use,
and then click Open.
Selecting and opening a mask toggles
Mask on. Once selected, you can toggle
the mask off or on.
For additional information on using
masks, refer to the RT-Eye online help.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
47
Using the RT-Eye Software
7. In this example, click 2 to display the
Configure controls for a Spectrum plot.
8. Click Linear or Log for the vertical axis
scale.
9. Click Linear or Log for the horizontal
axis scale.
10. In this example, click 3 to display the
Configure controls for a Histogram plot.
11. Click Linear or Log for the vertical axis
scale.
12. Click the Bin Resolution control to select
the number of bins.
13. In this example, click 4 to display the
Configure controls for a Bathtub Curve.
14. Click Linear or Log to set the scale for
both axes.
15. After you select and configure the plots
that you want, click Start to take your
measurements.
48
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
When sequencing is complete, the Plot
Summary window displays up to four
plots.
Reconfiguring Plots and Using the Bit Error Locator
In the following steps, you will:
Make changes to display two plots: an eye diagram plot with a PCIExpress NTbit mask and the associated waveform plot.
Use the Plots Refresh button to reconfigure the plots without sequencing again.
View the mask hits in the eye diagram plot.
Use the Bit Error Locator function to see the mask hits (sample points) in red on the waveform.
16. Select Plots > Select.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
49
Using the RT-Eye Software
17. Make the following changes:
Change the second measurement to
Eye Width.
Change the Plot Type toWaveform.
Change third and fourth
measurements to None.
18. Click Configure.
19. Click 1.
20. Click Browse.
21. Locate and select the PCI Express
Directory in theMasks directory.
22. Click Open.
50
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
23. Select PCETxNTbit.msk.
24. Click Open.
The mask file is opened and Mask is
toggled to On (if it was Off).
25. Click Select.
26. Click Refresh.
The reconfigured plots are displayed.
27. Click the Eye Diagram Details icon.
The details of the eye diagram are
displayed.
28. Note the mask hits.
29. Click the Plot Summary Icon to display
both plots again.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
51
Using the RT-Eye Software
30. Click the Waveform Details icon.
Note that the Bit Error Locator displays
the waveform with the mask hits
highlighted in red.
31. Click the Zoom in X icon.
32. Click the mask hits that you want to see
in detail (you may want to click multiple
times to zoom in on the waveform).
33. Note the mask hits (sample hits),
indicated in red, on zoomed waveform.
52
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Configuring Measurements
This topic contains information about advanced features of the RT-Eye application. Refer to the RT-Eye Serial Compliance
and Analysis Online Help for additional information, if needed.
Choosing Probe Types and Measurement Sources
When started, the RT-Eye application is configured with a default probe type and source for the measurements. You can
choose a different probe type and source, either manually or by using the Wizard. This section discusses how to manually
choose a probe type and source.
You can set the probe type to Single Ended or Differential. To use a single-ended probe type, you must choose two source
waveforms, nominally representing the Vpositive and Vnegative inputs to a differential amplifier. The application subtracts Vnegative
from Vpositive to create a composite waveform on which the measurements are performed. The two source waveforms may be
two live waveforms, two reference waveforms, or two .csv files.
When you choose a Differential probe type, you must choose a single-source waveform. This waveform represents the
output of a differential amplifier external to the oscilloscope, such as that contained in a differential probe. Again, the source
may be a live channel, a reference waveform, or a .csv file.
Source
Use the Source window to configure the source of your measurements. The controls displayed in the window differ,
depending on the probe type and source type that you select.
The following procedure configures the
sources for a single ended probe type.
1. Select Measurements > Select.
The Select window displays.
2. Select Single Ended from the Probe
Type drop-down box.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
53
Using the RT-Eye Software
3. Select Measurements > Configure >
Source.
4. Select the source type. For this example,
select Live.
5. Select your sources from the D+. Ddrop-down box.
The Autoset controls in the following
steps are available only when the source
type is Live.
6. Click Vertical Scale to autoset the
waveforms to display full screen
vertically based on the amplitude of the
sources.
7. Click Horizontal Resolution to autoset
the time base to the necessary horizontal
resolution and record length to ensure
accurate measurements.
8. Click Vertical & Horizontal to autoset
both the vertical scale and the horizontal
resolution.
The following procedure configures the
source for a differential probe type.
1. Select Measurements > Select .
The Select window displays.
54
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
2. Select Differential from the Probe Type
drop-down box.
3. Select Measurements > Configure >
Source.
The Source window displays. This
display is for a differential probe type
with Live/Ref selected.
4. In the Differential drop-down box, select
the source of the waveform on which you
want to take measurements.
5. Click Vertical Scale to autoset the
waveform to display full screen vertically
based on the amplitude of the source.
6. Click Horizontal Resolution to autoset
the time base to the horizontal resolution
and record length necessary for accurate
measurements.
7. Click Vertical & Horizontal to autoset
both the vertical scale and the horizontal
resolution.
8. Click Select to display the Select
Measurements window.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
55
Using the RT-Eye Software
Ref Levels
Use the Ref Levels window to set the high, middle and low reference voltages. The timing instants used by the measurements
are precisely determined by when these voltage thresholds are crossed by the source waveform(s).
You can set any of the reference levels manually, or you can choose Ref Level Autoset so that the application automatically
determines appropriate levels. If you do not set the reference levels either manually or using Autoset, the application will use
default values which may cause unexpected measurement results.
Note that the Autoset button in the Measurements > Select window performs an autoset on the horizontal scale, vertical
scale, and reference level. (See page 45, Selecting Measurements and Using Autoset.)
To set the reference level values
automatically, which is the preferred method,
perform the following procedure:
1. Click Ref Levels.
The Ref Level Autoset Setup window
displays.
2. Click Run.
56
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Smart Gating
Use gating to narrow the analysis to an area of the waveform specified by a gated region, filtering out unnecessary
information. The Smart Gating window has controls for two types of gating. You can gate the region using vertical cursors,
or you can use smart gating. If you use smart gating, you must set up a clock recovery window and an analysis window
within the specified clock recovery window.
Using Cursors to Set a Gated Region. To set a gated region using cursors, perform the following procedure:
1. In the instrument menu bar, select
Cursors > Cursors On . Then select
Cursors > Cursor Type > V-bars.
2. In the application menu bar, select
Measurements > Configure > Smart
Gating.
The Smart Gating window displays.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
57
Using the RT-Eye Software
3. Click Cursors.
4. Use the multipurpose knobs on the
instrument to position the cursors,
defining the area of the waveform in
which measurements will be taken.
5. Click Start to take measurements on the
waveform between the cursors.
Using Smart Gating to Set Up a Gated Region. To set a gated region using smart gating, you must set up a Clock
Recovery Window, and then define your gated region by setting up an Analysis Window within the Clock Recovery Window.
Setting Up the Clock Recovery Window.
Perform the following procedure:
1. Click Measurements > Configure >
Smart Gating.
2. Click Smart Gating.
3. Click the Gating Units drop-down box,
and select the type of units that you want
to use.
4. Click Start in the Clock Recovery
Window, and enter the unit interval or
edge within the record where the clock
recovery starts.
5. Click Length in the Clock Recovery
Window, and enter the length in unit
intervals or edges of the window over
which the application recovers the clock.
6. Note the unit interval or edge on which
the clock recovery will stop.
58
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
You can take measurements on multiple
clock recovery windows within the waveform.
To use multiple windows, perform these
additional steps:
7. Check Enable Scan.
8. Click Scan Incr, and enter the number
of unit intervals or edges by which you
want to each scan to be offset from the
prior one.
9. Click #Scans, and enter the number of
scans that you want to make, or, if you
want to scan the entire record, check
Scan to End of Record.
Setting up the Analysis Window. After setting up the Clock Recovery Window, you must set up the Analysis Window.
There are three ways to set up the Analysis Window.
The same as the Clock Recovery Window
A smaller region centered within the Clock Recovery Window
A user-defined region positioned anywhere within the Clock Recovery Window
To set up the Analysis Window, perform the one of the following procedures.
Setting the Analysis Window the same as
the Clock Recovery Window.
1. Check Same as Clock Recovery
Window. Your Analysis Window is now
set up.
Setting the Analysis Window Centered
within the Clock Recovery Window.
1. Clear the Same as Clock Recovery
Window check box.
2. Select Centered from the Alignment
drop-down box.
3. Click Length, and set the size of the
window in unit intervals or edges. Your
Analysis Window is now set up.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
59
Using the RT-Eye Software
Setting a User-Defined Analysis Window
within the Clock Recovery Window.
1. To specify the absolute position of
the Analysis Window within the Clock
Recovery Window, select User Defined
from the Alignment drop-down box.
2. Click Start, and enter the unit interval or
edge that you want the Analysis Window
to start.
3. Click Length, and set the size of the
window in unit intervals or edges. Your
Analysis Window is now set up.
Clock Recovery
Use the following procedures to set up clock recovery using different clock recovery methods.
To set up clock recovery as a phase-locked
loop with the bandwidth based on an industry
standard method, perform the following
procedure:
1. Click Clock Recovery.
The Clock Recovery window displays.
2. Click the Method drop-down box and
select PLL: Standard BW.
3. Select the standard to which you want to
test from the Standard : b/s drop-down
box.
60
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
4. Click the PLL Order drop-down box,
and select between a first-order or
second-order loop.
5. If you select Second for the PLL Order,
click the Damping control, and enter a
value for the damping ratio of the PLL.
6. Normally, the clock recovery software
automatically determines the bit rate of
the waveform. To explicitly guide the
clock recovery software, click On for the
Nominal Data rate.
7. Click the Bit Rate control, and enter the
nominal bit rate in bits per second.
To set up the Clock Recovery at a PLL
with a user-defined bandwidth, perform the
following procedure:
1. Click the the Method drop-down box,
and select PLL: User BW.
2. Click the User BW control, and input the
bandwidth.
3. To use the other controls in this window,
follow the instructions in the industry
standard procedure (starting with step 4).
To set up the Clock Recovery to use the
constant clock mean or the constant clock
median method, perform the following
procedure:
1. Click the Method drop-down box and
select Const Clk Mean or Const Clk
Median.
2. To explicitly guide the bit rate used by
the clock recovery software, do steps 6
and 7 in the industry standard procedure.
Jitter
Use the controls in the Jitter window to set up for Jitter@BER measurements. These controls are not required for a TIE
jitter measurement.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
61
Using the RT-Eye Software
If your waveform has a cyclically-repeating
pattern and you know the pattern length
in unit intervals, perform the following
procedure:
1. Click Jitter.
2. Select Repeating in the Type drop-down
box.
3. Select from one of the industry-standard
bit patterns in the Pattern drop-down
box. If your pattern is not listed, choose
Custom.
4. If you selected Custom as the pattern,
then enter the pattern length.
5. Click the BER control, and enter the bit
error ratio. The eye opening and total
jitter at this BER is extrapolated.
If your waveform does not have a repeating
pattern, or has a repeating pattern for which
you do not know the length, perform the
following procedure:
1. Click Jitter.
2. Select Arbitrary in the Type drop-down
box.
3. Click the Window Length control to
set the number of history bits used to
calculate data-dependent jitter for each
edge in the waveform (typically 5 to 10
bits).
4. Click the Population control to set
the minimum population that each bit
pattern must be observed before it is
used as a basis for data-dependent jitter
calculations (typically 100 to greater than
1000).
5. Click the BER control, and enter the
bit error rate. The measurement will
extrapolate the eye opening and total
jitter at this BER.
62
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Population
Use the controls in the Population window to
set the maximum population on which the
selected measurements are taken. In Free
Run mode, sequencing will automatically halt
when the specified population is reached on
all measurements.
1. Click Population.
2. Click On.
3. Select Measurement or Acquisitions in
the Limit By drop-down box.
4. Click the Limit control, and specify the
number of measurements or acquisitions
that you want to set as the limit.
General Config
Use the controls in the General Config
window to set whether rise, fall, and
amplitude measurements are limited to
transition bits or all bits. You can also enable
worst-case logging in the scan mode.
1. Click General Config.
2. Click to toggle the features.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
63
Using the RT-Eye Software
Setting Limits
The Serial Analysis module provides a Limits file that includes combinations of all measurements and statistical
characteristics and an appropriate range of values for each combination. The application can use the Limits file and
a mask file to determine the Pass or Fail status for compliance tests. You can view and edit existing files or create new
limit files that meet your test needs.
Viewing the Current Limits
To view the current limits, perform the
following procedure:
1. Select Measurements > Limits.
The Limits window displays.
2. Click Off.
3. Click Browse to find the Limits file that
you want to display.
4. Click Current.
The RT-Eye Limits Editor Editor opens
and displays the values in the currently
selected Limits file.
64
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Editing the Currently Displayed Limit File
To edit the currently displayed Limit file,
perform the following procedure:
5. Using the drop-down boxes and controls,
edit any measurement, statistic, lower
limit, or upper limit that you want.
6. To add a new measurement, click + in the
toolbar. A new line is added with None
selected as the measurement to the end
of the list. Set up this measurement as
you want.
7. To remove a measurement, select None
as the measurement, and click Compact.
Compact removes all measurements
that are set to None.
8. Click Validate to verify that the limits for
each measurement are valid and that
there are no duplicate measurements.
Viewing a Summary of the Limits
9. To view a summary of the currently
displayed file, select File > Show
Summary.
The Summary window displays.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
65
Using the RT-Eye Software
The summary table displays all the
measurements, statistics, lower limits,
and upper limits that you have set up.
10. Click OK.
Saving the Limits File
11. Click Cancel to close the editor without
saving any of your changes.
12. Click Save As to save your file. Be sure
to save the file with a different name,
unless you want to overwrite the current
file.
13. Close the RT-Eye Limits Editor.
66
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Using the RT-Eye Software
Using Limits
14. After you select the Limits file that you
want to use, click On.
15. Click Start.
The Result Summary window displays.
16. Check the Status column for PASS/FAIL
results for the measurements on which
you set limits.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
67
Application Examples
Application Examples
Creating a Custom Compliance Module with Pass/Fail Limits
This application example shows you how to perform jitter analysis compliant with T11.2 MJSQ methodology using the
spectrum approach. You will use the Setup Wizard to quickly set up and take your measurements and display plots, select
an appropriate mask for the eye diagram, define a limits module, create a compliance report, and save your test so that
you can run it when you start up the application again (or at any other time).
The signal used for this example is a 127 bit, PRBS repeating pattern. A Tektronix P7380SMA differential probe with
phase-matched SMA cables is connected to the positive and negative outputs of a 2.5 Gb/s signal source. The differential
probe is then connected to Channel 1 of the instrument.
The RT-Eye Serial Data Compliance and Analysis Application must be installed and enabled on your instrument.
Starting the RT-EyeApplication
1. Press AUTOSET on the front panel of
the instrument to view the differential
signal.
2. Start the application:
For non-B and non-C model
oscilloscopes, select File > Run
Application > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
68
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
For B and C model oscilloscopes,
select App > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
The RT-Eye application displays in the
lower half of the screen.
Running the Setup Wizard
3. If the RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays, click Run Wizard.
4. If the RT-Eye Welcome dialog box does
not display, select Measurements >
Wizard….
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
69
Application Examples
5. Make the following selections in the
Setup Wizard:
Step 1 — Differential
Step 2 — Ch1
Step 3 — PCIE : 2.5G
Step 4 — Timing, Amplitude, TIE
Jitter, Jitter@BER, Repeating,
127 UI
Step 5 — Yes
Step 6 — Yes
Step 7 — Eye Diagram, Spectrum,
Bathtub Curve, Jitter Histogram
6. Click Run.
Viewing the Results
7. View the results.
The Plot Summary window displays
the plots that you selected and the
Results Summary window displays the
measurements.
8. Click Details.
70
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
9. Select Jitter @ BER from the Select
Measurement drop-down box.
10. View the details of the Jitter @ BER
measurement.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
71
Application Examples
Summary of Displayed Results
The three plots of jitter and the corresponding measurements represent a typical method of taking jitter measurements
using the Spectrum Method of Rj/Dj separation.
The TIE histogram (lower left-hand plot) is the traditional method of measuring jitter on an oscilloscope. This method is
limited by the amount of statistical certainty that can be achieved in a reasonable amount of time. More advanced DSP
methods are used to determine the jitter eye opening, total jitter, random jitter, and deterministic Jitter.
The TIE measurements are transformed into the frequency domain by performing an FFT on the raw TIE data, creating
the jitter spectrum shown in the upper right-hand plot. The spikes in the frequency domain represent deterministic jitter.
Further analysis can be done to determine which spikes are Duty Cycle Distortion (DCD), which are Data Dependent Jitter
(DDJ), and which are Periodic Jitter (PJ). Once these values are removed (DJ), then what is left is a noise floor which
represents the Random Jitter (RJ).
These transformed values are used to create the Cumulative Distribution Function (CDF), commonly known as the Bathtub
Curve, shown in the lower right-hand plot. The magenta line at 10 -12 BER represents the jitter eye opening measurement.
As can be seen by the measurement results, the following equation applies:
Eye Opening @ BER = [1 UI - Total Jitter @ BER]
For more information about the spectrum approach to jitter measurements, refer to the MJSQ (Methodologies in Jitter and
Signal Quality) PDF file at:
http://www.t11.org/ftp/t11/pub/fc/mjsq/04-101v4.pdf
Using a Mask
You have taken your measurements and
viewed the associated plots. Now, you will
display a custom or industry-standard mask
on the Eye Diagram plot.
11. Select Plots > Config.
12. Click 1.
13. Click Browse.
The browse window opens.
72
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
14. Locate and select the PCI Express folder
in the Masks directory.
15. Click Open.
16. Select PCETxNTbit.msk.
17. Click Open.
The mask file is opened and Mask is
toggled to On (if it was Off).
18. Note that Mask automatically toggled On
when you opened the mask file.
19. Click Select.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
73
Application Examples
20. Click Refresh.
The plots are recalculated using the
measurements taken previously, and the
Eye diagram is displayed with the mask
that you selected.
21. Note that mask hits, if any, are displayed
as white dots.
Defining a Limits Module
You have taken measurements, viewed
plots, and added an industry-standard mask
to your eye diagram, Now, you will create a
limits module to apply a limit to the TIE Jitter
measurement taken previously.
22. Select Measurements > Limits.
74
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
23. Click New.
The RT-Eye Limits Editor window opens.
24. Select TIE Jitter from the Measurement
drop-down box.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
75
Application Examples
25. Select Min from the Statistic drop-down
box.
26. Enter -60ps in the Lower Lim box.
27. Click + to add another measurement.
28. Select TIE Jitter from the Measurement
drop-down box.
29. Select Max from the Statistic drop-down
box.
30. Enter 60ps in the Upper Lim box.
31. Click Save As.
The Save window displays.
76
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
32. Enter Jitter.lim as the file name.
33. Click Save.
The Save window closes.
34. Close the RT-Eye Limits Editior window.
35. Click Browse.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
77
Application Examples
36. Select Jitter.lim as the limits file.
37. Click Open.
The Limits browse window closes.
38. Click On.
39. Select Results > Details.
40. Click Clear Results.
41. Click Start.
42. Select TIE Jitter.
43. Note the PASS/FAIL status of the
measurement limits that you set up in
the Limits file.
78
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
Creating a Compliance Report
You have taken measurements, viewed plots,
added an industry-standard mask to your
eye diagram, and created a Tie Jitter limits
file. Now you will generate a compliance
report. Perform the following steps:
44. Select Utilities > Reports.
45. Click Generate.
Wait until the report generator is finished.
When completed, the report displays.
(Use the Alt+Tab key combination to
bring the report to the front, if necessary.)
Using MyTest
You have created a custom compliance test
module. Now you will use MyTest to save
your test and run it automatically when you
start the application (or whenever you want).
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
79
Application Examples
To save your settings as a MyTest file,
perform the following procedure:
46. Select Measurements > Save MyTest.
Your current setup is saved as MyTest.
47. Select File > Exit.
The Exit RT-Eye dialog window displays.
48. Click No to exit without restoring
oscilloscope settings.
To run MyTest from the RT-Eye Welcome
dialog box, which displays when you start
the RT-Eye application, perform the following
procedure:
49. Start the application:
For non-B and non-C model
oscilloscopes, select File > Run
Application > RT-Eye Serial
Compliance and Analysis.
The RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays.
80
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Application Examples
For B and C model oscilloscopes, select
App > RT-Eye Serial Compliance and
Analysis.
The RT-Eye Welcome dialog box
displays.
50. Click Run MyTest.
The application takes the measurements
and displays the results in the Result
Summary window.
51. If the RT-Eye Welcome window did not
appear, then select Measurements >
Run MyTest.
The application takes the measurements
and displays the results in the Result
Summary window.
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
81
Application Examples
82
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Index
Index
A
Accessories, standard, 5
Application directories, location, 21
Application Examples, 68
Application installation, 5
Application set up, 22
Autoset Summary dialog window, 13
B
Bandwidth, system, 6
Bit Error Locator, 49
C
Calibration of oscilloscope and
probes, 9
Clock Recovery, 60
See also Configuring
Measurements
Closing the application, 18
Compatibility, 2
Compliance modules, 1
Configurations, probing See Probing
configurations, typical
Configuring Measurements, 53
Clock Recovery
Bit Rate, 61
Const Clk Mean, 61
Const Clk Median, 61
Damping, 61
Industry standard
method, 60
Nominal Data Rate, 61
PLL Order, 61
PLL: Standard BW, 60
PLL: User BW, 61
Standard: b/s, 60
User BW, 61
User-defined method, 61
General Config, 63
Enable worst-case
logging, 63
General Config Window,
displaying the, 63
Limit Amplitude
measurements, 63
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Limit Rise/Fall
measurements, 63
Jitter, 61
Arbitrary pattern, 62
BER, 62
Jitter window,
displaying, 62
Length, 62
Pattern, 62
Population, 62
Repeating pattern, 62
Type, 62
Window Length, 62
Population
Limit by Acquisitions, 63
Limit by Measurements, 63
Limit value, 63
Population Limit,
toggling, 63
Population Window,
displaying, 63
Ref Levels, Autoset
Accessing Ref Levels
window, 56
Setup, 56
Smart Gating, 57
Accessing Smart Gating
window, 57, 58
Button, Smart Gating, 58
Centered (Analysis), 59
Clock Recovery, setting
up, 58
Cursors, 58
Enable Scan (Clock
Recovery), 59
Gating Units, 58
Length (Analysis), 59, 60
Length (Clock
Recovery), 58
Same as Clock
Recovery Window
(Analysis), 59
Scan Incr (Clock
Recovery), 59
Scan to End of Record
(Clock Recovery), 59
#Scans (Clock
Recovery), 59
Start (Analysis), 60
Start (Clock Recovery), 58
Stop (Clock Recovery), 58
User-defined
(Analysis), 60
Source, 53
Accessing Source
window, 54
Autoset, 54
Differential Probe, 54
Horizontal Resolution, 54,
55
Single Ended Probe, 53
Source Type, 54
Source, inputs, 54, 55
Vertical & Horizontal, 54,
55
Vertical Scale, 54, 55
Configuring Plots, 47
Bathtub Curve, 48
Scale, 48
Eye Diagram, 47
Bit Type, 47
Toggling masks, 47
Histogram, 48
Bin resolution, 48
Vertical axis, selecting, 48
Spectrum
Horizontal scale,
selecting, 48
Toggling masks, 48
Vertical scale,
selecting, 48
Connection to device under test, 6
Conventions used in this manual, iv
CSV file, exporting to, 35
Cursors
Positioning, 30
Readouts, 30
Resetting, 30
Turning off, 30
Using, 30
D
Defining Peferences, 12
83
Index
Defining preferences
Autoset Summary dialog
window, 13
High-performance eye
rendering, 13
Welcome window, 13
Deskew, probe, 8
Details, viewing plot summary, 27
Device under test, connections to, 6
Docking the application, 16
Documentation, iv
E
Examples, application, 68
Exiting the application, 18
Exporting plots
Data file, 31
Graphics file, 31
F
Features, key, 1
G
General Config See Configuring
Measurements
H
Hiding the application, 14
High-performance eye rendering, 13
I
Installation, 5
Interface, user, 20
J
Jitter See Configuring
Measurements
Jitter, configuring for, 61
K
Key features, 1
Keyboard, 5
L
P
Limits
Compacting a Limits File, 65
Limits File Editor, 64
Limits File, browsing for a, 64
Limits File, editing, 65
Limits File, saving a, 66
Limits Window, displaying, 64
PASSFAIL, 67
Setting, 64
Summary of limits, 65
Summary table, example of, 66
Toggling on or off, 64
Using, 67
Validating a Limits File, 65
Viewing, 64
Location of application
directories, 21
Logging worst case waveforms, 41
Plot Summaries
Cursor functions See Cursors
Display full screen, 27
Display in lower half of
screen, 26
Display in upper half of
screen, 26
Grid display, 31
Viewing, 25
Viewing details, 27
Zoom function See Zoom
Plots
Configuring See Configuring
Plots
Exporting, 31
Printing, 32
Reconfiguring See Configuring
Plots
Selecting, 46
From menu, 46
Measurement to be
plotted, 46
Plot type, 46
Using button, 46
Population, configuring, 63
See also Configuring
Measurements
Preferences, defining, 12
Autoset Summary dialog
window, 13
High-performance eye
rendering, 13
Welcome window, 13
Probe calibration, 9
Probe deskew, 8
Probe type
Selecting in Wizard, 24
Probing configurations, typical, 6
One P73XX differential
probe, 7
One P73XX SMA differential
probe, 7
Two P72XX single-ended
or P73XX differential
probes, 7
Two TCA-to-SMA adapters, 6
M
Manual conventions, iv
MATLAB, 4
Measurements
Additional for Single Ended, 45
Autoset, using, 45
Configuring See Configuring
Measurements
Detail View, 35
Displaying the measurement
window, 45
Exporting to CSV file, 35
Selecting, 45
Selecting all, 45
Selecting Probe Type, 45
Turning off or on, 45
Menu structure, 20
Minimizing and maximizing the
application, 14
Minimum requirements, 2
Modules, compliance, 1
MyTest, 43
Running, 44
Running from the menu, 44
Running from the Welcome
window, 44, 80
Saving from the menu, 43, 80
Saving when exiting, 43
O
Oscilloscope calibration, 9
84
R
Ref Levels, 56
Configuring See Configuring
Measurements
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
Index
Related documentation, iv
Relevant Web Sites, iv
Reports
Accessing the Report
Generator, 36, 79
Compliance, 36
Creating new, 36
Directory, 36
Example of, 37, 79
File formats, 36
Generate button, 36, 79
Generating, 36
Moving the Report window to
the front, 37, 79
Printer icon, 37
Printing, 37
Printing a saved report, 38, 40
Report generator utility, 36
Saving, 38
Selecting a printer, 37
Viewing a saved report, 38
Requirements
keyboard, 5
MATLAB, 4
minimum, 2
Results
Accessing the Detail View, 35
Accessing the Summary
View, 34
Detail view, 34
Detail window example, 35
Exporting to CSV file, 35
Measurement selection for
details, 35
Summary view, 34
Time Units, selecting, 35
RT-Eye Quick Start User Manual
S
U
Safety Summary, iii
Save MyTest check box, 19
Sequencing Controls, 17
Modes
Free Run, 17
Single No Acq, 17
Single Run, 17
Stop, 18
Setup Wizard
Access from menu, 24, 69
Access from Welcome
window, 23
Example display, 25
Probe type,selecting, 24
Running the, 25
Selections, making, 24
Summary windows
example, 25
Using the, 23
Setup, saving a, 43
Smart Gating See Configuring
Measurements
Types, 57
Source, Configuring See
Configuring Measurements
Standard accessories, 5
Starting the application
Newer instruments, 11, 23
Older instruments, 11, 23
Structure, menu, 20
System bandwidth, 6
Undocking the application, 16
User interface, 20
T
V
Viewing Results, 34
W
Waveforms
Accessing the Config
controls, 41
Browsing to a log file, 41
File names, 42
Logging worst case, 41
Opening a worst case file, 42
Purging worst case files, 42
Turning off logging, 42
Turning on logging, 41
Web sites, relevant, iv
Welcome window, 13
Wizard, Setup See Setup Wizard
Z
Zoom, 28
100% icon, 29
Horizontal, 29
Horizontal, multiple times, 29
In, 28
In, multiple times, 28
Out, 28
Out, multiple times, 29
Time units, selecting, 35
85