Download DC Millennium/LIVE

Transcript
Diamond Cut Millennium/Live User’s Manual
This feature provides a convenient means to chop a large file into smaller pieces, and assign new wave file names to these
subset files. It is useful for creating a number of wave files that could be listed and quantized for CD-R indexing from a single
large file such as that which you might have from transferring a Vinyl LP, or a concert tape recording to DC
Millennium/LIVE. A popup window will appear in which you can re-define a file name for each “chopped” file subset.
Paste Crossfade
“Paste Crossfade” is the cousin of the Paste Mix feature. It operates in a similar manner, with the difference that there is a
time varying function applied to the gain settings, so that a “crossfade” effect can be produced. This feature is useful when
you want to fade one song (or file) into another, with no “dead-air” in between. When you run Paste Crossfade, you will be
able to adjust the File-1 (clipboard) Start and Stop Gain settings as well as those for the target file (File-2). You have available
four gain controls in total. You will also be able to control the dynamics of the crossfade by selecting Linear In, Log In, or
Log Out. This feature is undo-able when executed under the Edit Menu. The “Paste Crossfade” feature is also available under
the Filter Menu. However, when it is run from the Filter Menu, it is not undo-able.
Paste Insert
"Paste Insert" is a cousin to the "Paste Over" command. The difference is that "Paste Insert" does not wipe out the sector of
the wave file where you desire to place the contents of the "Copy" temporary file. Instead, it appends the "Copy" temporary
file to the desired wave file. When using “Paste Insert”, the temporary file will be inserted at the beginning of the highlighted
area of the target file. Please note that this feature is only "undo-able" once.
Paste Interpolate
Paste Interpolate allows you to manually correct a recording impulse noise defect such as a tick, pop, click or thud. To use
this function, merely highlight the area in the source file in which you are observing a noise event. Next, click on the Edit
Menu, and scroll down to “Paste”. Lastly, click on the Interpolate feature, and the event will be replaced with a new
waveform. This new waveform is calculated by a high order modeling algorithm utilizing up to a maximum of 2048 samples
of data. A more convenient method to access this feature is through the use of the “I” key on your computer keyboard.
Paste Mix
“Paste Mix” allows you to add or “mix” one file (or a portion thereof) to a second file. This feature is useful for creating
“voice-overs,” or inserting special effects on top of a previously created sound track. This feature works in conjunction with
the Copy function. In many cases it will require that two files be opened, one in the Source Workspace, and a second in the
Destination Workspace. But this is not mandatory in that you can “paste mix” a portion of a file back onto itself if desired.
The file that you open in the Source Workspace can be the file onto which you will be mixing. The File which you will be
establishing as the “voice over” or special effect, might be the one opened in your Destination Workspace. In other words,
you can mix the Destination file into the Source File, in this example. The process can also be performed in reverse, wherein
you can mix a portion of the Source file into the Destination File. These processes are undo-able, so that you can experiment
until you are satisfied with the result. To use this feature, you will be highlighting the portion of the Destination File that you
want to mix into the Source file. You will then use the Copy command to place it on a clipboard. Then you will highlight the
Source file location in which you want the voice-over mixed in. When you run Paste Mix, you will be able to adjust the
Source and Destination gain settings over a range of from +12 dB to - 100 dB.
Paste Over
"Paste Over" is the Siamese twin of the "Copy" command. It allows you to insert the portion of the wave file located in the
Copy temporary file location over the top of a different location in your wave file or to other wave files. (This operation will
delete the portion of the wave file that previously had been in the particular location, installing the temporary file in that
position instead.) The "Copy and Paste Over" feature in DC Millennium/LIVE can be used to manually "de-click" or "depop" a sound source, create special effects, or to modify the context of a spoken word (for laughs only, of course.)
Note: Both "Copy" and "Paste Over" can also be accessed by way of the right mouse button. For a procedure describing the
use of the Copy or Paste Over features, refer to the “How Do I” section of this manual. Also of interest may be the topic
describing a “Manual de-clicking Process” in the same section of this manual.
40