Download Adobe PDF - FilesAnywhere

Transcript
This way, checkin/checkout is activated on all files in the Projects folder, except for files
in the Internal Projects folder.
Note: to save a folder with the “Detach Properties from Parent” option, at least one
Version Control property must remain in the subfolder you detach (either File Checkout
Enforced, Version History, or Disable Deletes must be checked). Clearing all Version
Control settings on the folder will cause the properties to revert back to inheriting its
properties from the parent folder. If you wish a subfolder to be completely detached and
cleared of all version control settings, you will need to move that folder outside of the
current parent folder hierarchy (i.e. drag the folder to your root folder).
Overriding Checkout Status on Specific Files/Folders
As the owner of a folder, you have the ultimate authority to change folder contents.
However, with Version Control settings enabled, even you as the owner will be prevented
from changing a file that is checked out by another person, if you have shared the folder
as a GroupShare and activated Version Control.
To satisfy both the need for a “regulated” Version Control system, that safeguards against
accidental change even by the folder owner, and the need for the folder owner to have
ultimate authority, FilesAnywhere folder owners may use the “Undo Checkout” feature
to essentially override the checkout status of a file or folder, if it is needed.
To override a checked out file, right-click on the checked out file and select “Undo
Checkout”. This may also be done on a folder to cancel the “Checked Out” status on all
files within the selected folder. If you use the Undo Checkout feature on a folder, the
File Browser screen appears with all checked out files selected, so that you may review
the complete list before continuing to Undo Checkout.
Removing Checkin/Checkout
To remove the Checkin/Checkout version control on all folders, select the folder where
the version control properties were enabled, and uncheck the “File Checkout Enforced”
checkbox, then Save the properties. To remove all Version Control settings, including
Version History, you may click the “Remove All Version Control” button on the
properties screen.
If the above options are disabled on the properties page for the selected folder, but the
checkbox is checked, read the field labeled “Properties Inherited From” to see which
parent folder these properties are inherited from. Then, select that parent folder and
repeat the above steps to disable Checkin/Checkout.