Download MDE User Manual
Transcript
Using the MDE Client and the network connections to all target databases are closed automatically. When you restart the MDE you must log on again. Note: When you open a connection to an MDE Site, the connection to that site remains open until you shut down the MDE Client. You cannot voluntarily close a connection to an individual site, even though each site was opened separately. Connections to MDE sites can only be closed when the MDE Client is shut down. As an example, if an individual MDE Site loses its connection due to a network problem, the MDE still maintains its connection to any other MDE sites that may be open. ♦To log off the MDE: 1. Click Exit from any MDE module window in which you are working. MDE closes the window you are working in and displays the main MDE window. 2. Click the Exit button on the MDE main window. MDE closes the window and connections, as well as the corresponding MDE Server jobs, to all sites. The Interactive Transfer Module The Interactive Transfer Module is the location from which the majority of the MDE Client tasks are performed. In the Interactive Transfer, you perform the following tasks: • Create extraction definitions (page 8-7) • Execute data transfers (page 8-13) • Use the Extraction Catalog (page 8-21) • Schedule data extractions and transfers (page 8-28) Section 8 - 5